WOOP WOOP!

2 May

Happy to say that I broke the 3 mile mark running tonight for the first time in a while.  I also increased my average speed by about 1mph- from 5.5 to 6.5.  I have only been running once or twice a week, but it’s been enough to make some real progress in speed and stamina.  I don’t think I will ever be a long distance runner, but I do think that 5 miles is a reasonable goal and a distance I can maintain regularly once I get there.

Last fall I participated in the first Run for Your Lives 5k obstacle course/race.  I did not get much of a chance to train for it.  I did a lot of treadmill running, but never got up to the distance and certainly didn’t account for the super steep hills, mud, obstacles, and sprinting from zombies.  I still finished with a very respectable time and with one flag in tact, so I was not transformed into a zombie.  That was both comforting and somewhat disappointing.  Some friends and I stayed and camped after the race which was a drunken shit show, and a lot of fun.

I’ve already signed up for this year’s race in Maryland, and will probably also do Pittsburgh and possibly Toronto.  It’s seriously THAT much fun.  There are some great videos on YouTube (the spectators would trick people into a dead end where they would get trapped by zombies…good times) if you want to get a better look at it.

Guess I better start hitting some hills and doing sprint intervals.  🙂

One Response to “WOOP WOOP!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Aussie Slang – W – « Raold Smeets - June 25, 2012

    […] Woop Woop! (healthandnuts.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

