Dukan, you suck!

30 Jan

Just kidding.  Dukan doesn’t suck, but sometimes the experiments I try with my allowed foods end up sucking.  So without further ado, here is my list of Dukan fails so far:

 Tortilla-less Enchiladas- I thought if I put some shredded chicken in a dish, topped it with some onions, peppers, enchilada sauce, and lowfat cheese that I would have a delicious melty meal.  I was wrong.  I was wrong in SO many ways.  Some foods should not be tampered with.  Enchiladas, for example.

<– What I wanted.  NOT what I got.

Chicken taco meatballs- These were first a fail, then a sort of success.  I’ll explain.  I made them using the low sodium taco seasoning.  I can get behind low fat, sugar free, etc.  Low sodium foods always taste like ass to me, and this was no exception.  The night I made them I took one nibble and moved on to something else.  However, since I had gone through all that time and effort, I decided to give them another chance the next day.  I added some hot sauce and some fat free sour cream, and while I wouldn’t say that I ENJOYED them, they weren’t too bad.  Hot sauce saves the day!

Dukan pink cheesecake cupcakes- Only the icing gets a failing grade.  I liked the cupcakes themselves, and enjoyed them with a little bit of sugar free Cool Whip (might be cheating, but is kind of a gray area and limited how much I used).  The icing is made of sour cream and Splenda, and on top of the cupcake which is also sweetened with Splenda, it was way too much artificial sweetener.  BLECH.

This list is a work in progress, but happily I’m finding a lot more food success than food fails and that keeps motivation high.  I did have a few drinks on Friday night, but life is to be lived.

Does anyone else have any recipes that earn a fail?

Leave a comment